The Electronic Journal of Information Systems in Developing Countries

(ISSN: 1681-4835)

Note. This page ( is located at: Please note that all submissions to EJISDC should be made online at:

EJISDC is now published by Wiley. The complete archive of previously published papers is available on an open access basis from the Wiley Online Library at:

The Electronic Journal of Information Systems in Developing Countries (EJISDC) strives to become the foremost international forum for practitioners, teachers, researchers and policy makers to share their knowledge and experience in the design, development, implementation, management and evaluation of information systems in developing countries.

EJISDC focuses on the digital divide. Our aim is to situate contemporary trends in ICTs within a fully global context. Outside of North America, Western Europe, Australasia and Japan, diverse societies are making sense of technological advances in ways unique to their cultures and histories. ICT investments can and do contribute to improved quality of life, even where priorities for investments in information systems compete with the provision of the basic necessities of life such as decent housing, clean water and primary healthcare. ICT investments are able to leverage the values of assets in developing countries in much the same way as they do in developed countries, sometimes to a far greater extent because of the lower starting point and lower costs.

We support and encourage the submission of research papers that focus on novel IS-related innovations, imagined, created and co-created within and for the developing context by the people on the ground. This requires a shift away from the techno-centric approach to innovation and a closer examination of the work undertaken by local communities to improve their daily lives.

We do not publish purely technical papers or papers that have no developing country context. The fact that the authors are based in a developing country is insufficient. All papers must explicitly reference one or more contexts that pertain to developing countries.

Further, we discourage authors from submitting papers that merely test well-worn theories developed in the Western context. We note that many authors take a well-established theory (such as TAM, UTAUT, ISSM, TPB) and unreflexively collect data from a developing country in order to test if the theory/model also applies in that context. These authors typically do not try to situate the theory/model in the new context at all - few or no local contextual details are provided and we learn very little about the local context at all. All research articles should be contextually detailed and specific. Where possible, we hope that authors will identify local contextual or cultural factors that influence the adoption/use of technology. We are not interested in intentions to use technology - we are interested in actual behaviour, ideally over some period of time, and with a commensurate level of contextual detail.

We appreciate that the use of IS for education is an important activity in developing countries. However, there are many existing journals in the computer-supported education space. Submissions in this domain must be clearly situated in a developing country context and must explicitly make a contribution to knowledge beyond what we know already. This requires careful research motivation and identification of a research question that challenges current practices. Unreflexive studies of how one specific technology is used in the classroom will not be entertained.

Further details of the EJISDC’s focus and scope, as well as information for authors, can be found on the publisher’s home page for the journal here:

The Editors in Chief are:

Robert Davison ( and

Roger W Harris (

The Senior Editors are:

Julian Bass (Salford University)

Jyoti Choudrie (University of Hertfordshire)

Salihu Dasuki (Sheffield University)

John Effah (University of Ghana)

G Harindranath (Royal Holloway, University of London)

Ahmed Imran (University of New South Wales)

Sirajul Islam (Orebro University)

Luiz Joia (Fundacion Gertulio Vargas)

Kirstin Krauss (University of South Africa)

Sim Lau (University of Wollongong)

Hugo Lotriet (University of South Africa)

Petter Nielsen (University of Oslo)

Johan Saebo (University of Oslo)

Oystein Saebo (University of Agder)

Priya Seetharaman (IIM Calcutta)

Maureen Tanner (University of Cape Town)

Devinder Thapa (University of Agder)

Judy van Biljon (University of South Africa)

PJ Wall (University College Dublin)

Graham Winley (Assumption University)


Last Updated April 26th, 2018